2020 State Spelling Bee Winners

Published by: Gary Merritt On: 03/17/2020 Under: All Articles

The State Spelling Bee was held on Sunday March 8th in Essexville, hosted by Fr. Van Rooy Council #2740. The winners and runners-up from the previously held diocesan spelling bees competed for the state championship.  All the contestants performed extremely well, and it was only after many rounds of competition that our winners and runners-up were determined.

In the Grade 7-9 Division:

Winner:  Brendan Pawlicki from Shelby Township

Runner Up;  Savana Ruggenbuck from Harbor Beach


In the Grade 4-6 Division:

Winner:  Jeveesh Prabaharan from Cass City

Runner Up:  Peyton Ruggenbuck from Harbor Beach

20 spell bee winners

Many people helped with this year’s bee. Thanks to pronouncers Rose Marie Rowley and District Deputy Ken Warzybok. Also thanks to those who served as judges or at registration, including State Raffle Director Kevin Rowley, Detroit Program Director Paul Palka, Saginaw Program Director Ray Gehlman, Saginaw Membership Director Willaim Learman, Gaylor Program Director Philip Parker, Lansing Program Director Dean Hayward, Grand Rapids Program Director Ken Skonecki and Lady Deb. Special thanks to State Advocate Barry Borsenik for attending and addressing the assembled participants and families.

Thank you, Michael Haughey 

State Youth Activities Director